Difference between revisions of "Borderlands/Skill Specialties"

From OttGaming Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
m (moved Borderlands/Race and Region Specialties to Borderlands/Skill Specialties: Article title no longer reflective of content.)
(No difference)

Revision as of 16:46, 11 November 2010

Some mental skills have required (or optional) specializations that are very campaign-world dependent. Here's a quick rundown on how they fit into Borderlands.


Specialty by species is required for many skills, e.g. Diagnosis, First Aid, Psychology, and Sex Appeal. However, needing a gazillion skills for all the fantasy races isn't fun, and many DF species really aren't different enough to warrant an entirely new skill.

Instead, use the following four "species" groups. All four groups default to each other at -2. If your character sheet doesn't specify a group, I will treat it as specialized in the group that your character belongs to. I will also assume your character is NOT familiar with the "exceptional" races noted as having familiarity penalties below, unless you are one, or the group starts with one. Spending a day working with an exotic race removes the penalty.

TLDR; All the "standard" fantasy races are Anthropoi.

Some Required Specialties
  • Anthropoi
    "Men". Includes Humans, Elves, Dwarves, Gnomes, Halflings, and all Goblin-kin. Winged and Sea elves are at -1 for Familiarity.
  • Gigantas
    "Giants". Gargoyles, Kabeiroi, Ogres, Trolls of all types, and full fledged Giants. Gargoyles are at -1 for Familiarity.
  • Pnevmatodi
    "Spirits". Faerie Folk, Half Spirits and Dark Ones. Dark Ones are at -1 for familiarity.
  • Ktinoi
    "Beasts". Cat-folk, Coleopterans, Kentauroi, Minotaurs, Reptilians, Wildmen. Coleopterans are at -2 for familiarity (they're exceptionally weird). Other misc. beast-men will also be Ktinoi.
Optional subspecialties

Any specific race. Elves and Goblin-kin must be specialized in a specific template (e.g. High Elves, Hobgoblins), not "All Elves" or "All Goblin-Kin".


For Hidden Lore, Psychology, and Physiology.

Some Required Specialties
  • Daímones
    Demons, vehicles of divine vengeance and punishment, and anything else transformed into monsters by curses. This includes some dragons, as divine guardians of sacred locations.
  • Stoicheiá
    Elementals, and other creatures empowered by elemental forces. This includes some dragons, as wild monsters.
  • Neráides
    Fae creatures, including sundry nature "spirits" of specific bodies of water.
  • Oinopnevmatódi
    Spirits (Divine or Titanic), and the small gods of places and regions (Except water spirits, which are Neráides, see above). Includes worshiped dead heroes with formal shrines.
  • Gérontasónton
    Elder Things of all description (or indescription). A new option for Scholars and Wizards (lucky you). This includes some things described as "dragons" by people who have run out of nouns.
  • Fantásmata
    Undead, both physical and spectral.

Creatures belonging to another category who have been transformed by a curse are usually Daímones or Fantásmata.

Some Optional Specialties

Any specific creature category ("Gorgons", "Oreads", "Mind Warpers"). A single unique monster is a valid Hyper-Specialization perk (Power Ups 2, page 16) (eg: "Medusa", "Kynosoura, the Oread of Mount Ida", "[Unprintable][1], the Lurking Darkness under lake Haali").


There's only one, so you can just write "Naturalist" if you like.

  • Kosmos
    The world.


All the Basic Set specialties are available, but the aquatic ones are not likely to come up unless something really unexpected happens. Arctic is also a bit of a long-shot but more plausible. Add a new specialty to the list:

  • Subterranean

This is something like "Survival (Radioactive Wasteland)" might be in a post-apocalyptic setting. It is available to all characters.